A Dabble in Mountain Biking

07/05/2012 09:11

When the SRAM Singletrack Minded calendar was announced, with an event in the local Kinross State Forrest, it prompted me into having another go at the dirt side of bike riding. After a poor outcome the first time I tried (under the suggestion of my coach Mark Fenner), which lasted 10min and a collar bone that turned into 7 pieces (And Cancellara thought he did well turning his into 4 after de Ronde!!!).

 

I decided to pair up for the 7 hour event and with Josh Fitzgerald, and on one of his bikes we took off. Thankfully I had some reconnisance on the ANZAC Day Wednesday to get used to this dirt riding thing. 

The opening of the race was a sharp up hill up a fire road before drifting down the Northshore section. Now this wasn't great for seeding prior to a techo section with a roadie who managed to belt it up the climb only to cause carnage and holding up a fair bit of traffic.

The plan all day was to take it easy, not go too hard and rish crashing. After a couple of laps I started getting some rhythem on the 'D's (gotta talk like a mountain biker), and regularly keeping it in 'The Dog' all day. 

With some consistant 28min laps (the fastest being in the 24min realm) Josh pulled in with 7min to spare in the 7 hours, so I decided to put some gas on and see what I could do, which may not have been the best idea, but it all came together, I was right on the edge of what my technical ability could handle, having a couple of hairy corners, but pulled out a 26:36 lap which I was quiet happy with.

Nutrition was spot on for me, pumping down some Torq Gels and Bars plus plenty of Energy in my bidons all day.

It was made even better with the SRAM Support being provided by Monza Imports with Sean Du Toit being there to help keep the bikes running. All in all a great day, some good pedalling and something quiet different to my normal training load. I can tell you, that as a roadie, there were some upper body and back muscles that got used that normally don't! This lead to quiet a sore week afterwards.